Victorian Sport Awards

Winners announced at 2021 Victorian Sport Awards

The Victorian Sport Awards (VSAs) is the night of nights for the Victorian sporting community, an event that recognises and celebrates the achievements of our home-grown sporting heroes and legends.

Honouring those who have made an exceptional contribution to sport and active recreation in Victoria, this year’s Awards acknowledge individual and team athletes as well as coaches, administrators, volunteers and the initiatives that promoted participation from both metropolitan and regional areas during the 2021 calendar year.

Presented by the State Government of Victoria and Vicsport on Wednesday 15 June 2022, this year’s VSAs was held at CENTREPIECE at Melbourne Park, the newest venue within the Melbourne & Olympic Parks precinct.

Winners across 19 categories were announced after they were nominated by State Sporting Associations as well as teammates, club members, friends, family and the recipient’s local community.

An esteemed panel of 30 highly qualified Victorian sports people including Olympians, world-renowned athletes and State Sporting Association CEOs were then charged with selecting the finalists and winners.

The most prestigious honour bestowed on the night is the Outstanding Contribution to Victorian Sport Award, presented to an individual in recognition of outstanding achievement in, or contribution to, sport in Victoria. This year’s recipient was Peggy O’Neal AO.

The current Richmond Football Club President and Chancellor of RMIT University, read about Peggy's achievements here.

Vicsport Chairman Ron Gauci said:

“Every year, we have a wonderful occasion through the Victorian Sport Awards to celebrate the achievements of the best our state’s sporting community has to offer. This year, we once again see a quality group of active participants whose achievements we acknowledge and recognise. We congratulate them on their achievements and thank them for their commitments to our industry in Victoria.

“It is also an absolute honour to recognise the achievements of this year’s Outstanding Contribution to Victorian Sport award recipient in Peggy O’Neal AO. Her contribution, leadership and dedication to sport in our state is an inspiration to so many.”

The Hon. Ros Spence, Minister for Community Sport said:

“2021 saw another year of outstanding sporting achievement by our dedicated home-grown athletes, clubs, coaches, officials and volunteers. They deserve this moment on the dais.

“Their contributions to sport, community and our state goes a long way towards making Victoria the sporting capital of the nation.

“It’s fantastic to see all our finalists and award winners recognised at these prestigious awards and I hope that we can help to inspire a new generation to follow in their footsteps.”

Winners at the 2021 Victorian Sport Awards are as follows and you can read more about their achievements here.

Southern Cross Trophies Coach of the Year

  • Alois Rosario – Table Tennis

Gallagher Community Coach of the Year

  • Gary Lasky – Lawn Bowls

Sports Accounting Australia Official of the Year

  • Sarah Davis – Athletics

etrainu Community Official of the Year

  • Anita Hill - Netball

AFL SportsReady Young Team of the Year

  • Indoor Youth State Team – Archery Victoria

AED Authority Team of the Year

  • Melbourne City FC – Football

My Sport Live Community Sporting Event of the Year

  • Barwon Respect Cup – Barwon Health/Netball Victoria

Love the Game Community Sporting Club of the Year

  • Footscray Hockey Club - Hockey

GameDay Sports Administrator of the Year – Eunice Gill Award

  • Ayden Shaw – Disability Sports & Recreation Victoria

Vicsport Sport Initiative of the Year

  • Softball Batter Up School Roadshow – Softball Victoria

Bunnings Trade Local Government Initiative of the Year

  • Club Development Workshop Series – Nillumbik Shire Council

VALO Volunteer of the Year

  • Rachael Rylance – Life Saving

VicHealth Active Recreation Initiative of the Year

  • Virtual Health and Wellness Programs – Blind Sports & Recreation Victoria

Involve Masters Athlete of the Year

  • Samantha Barrow – Life Saving

Global Wellness Tracking Young Athlete of the Year

  • Oscar Piastri – Motorsport

View Melbourne Outstanding Media Coverage of Sport Award

  • International Women’s Day Campaign – Netball Victoria

Polytan Peter Norman Inclusion Award

  • Ferntree Gully Tennis Club - Tennis

Governor’s Award Victorian Male Athlete of the Year – Frank Wilkes Award

  • Dylan Alcott - Tennis

Governor’s Award Victorian Female Athlete of the Year – Kitty McEwan Award

  • Elizabeth Watson - Netball

Victorian State Government Outstanding Contribution to Victorian Sport

  • Peggy O’Neal AO

You may also be interested in...

2020 Victorian Sport Awards rescheduled to 25 August

Following the latest state-wide lockdown due to COVID-19, Vicsport and the State Government of Victoria are thrilled to announce the 2020 Victorian Sport Awards have been rescheduled for Wednesday, 25 August.


Victorian Sport Awards, News, Awards, Industry

Sporting Legends and Community Heroes Star in the Victorian Sport Awards

Two Olympic Gold Medallists from the 2016 Rio Olympics, Kim Brennan AM and Mack Horton OAM, have been named the Victorian Female and Male Athletes of the Year for 2016 at the Victorian Sport Awards at the Melbourne Convention Centre.


2020 Victorian Sport Awards rescheduled online for 6 October

Vicsport and the State Government of Victoria are pleased to announce the 2020 Victorian Sport Awards have been rescheduled for Wednesday, 6 October.


Government Partners

Preferred Suppliers