2018 Victorian Sport Awards Winners

Media Release

Thursday 21 February, 2019

The Victorian Sport Awards is the night of nights for the Victorian sporting community; celebrating participants, coaches, organisers and the volunteers behind the scenes from all levels of sport in Victoria.

Last night, Wednesday 20 February in front of 500 people at Marvel Stadium, the Victorian sporting community celebrated the achievements of our home grown sporting heroes and legends and all those behind the scenes who helped them get there.

Each year the Victorian Sport Awards honours those who have made an outstanding contribution to sport in Victoria as individual or team athletes, coaches, administrators and volunteers from both metropolitan and regional areas in Victoria and the 2018 Victorian Sport Awards was no exception.

L-R: Winner of the VicHealth Sport Development Initiative of the Year award Neil Gray "Bowling with Babies" and Kirsten Corben from VicHealth

Joint winners of the SportsTG Victorian Sports Administrator of the Year award Rosie King (netball) and Karen Pearce (basketball)

WATCH: Winner of the 2018 Gallagher Victorian Coach of the Year - Dean Vickerman - Melbourne United

The quality and breadth of the nominations received makes selecting the finalists a difficult endeavour, which is why the 2018 Victorian Sport Awards invited 38 highly qualified Victorian sports people to constitute the judging panels charged with picking the finalists and winners across the 19 award categories.Vicsport Chairman Ron Gauci says:

Last night was a wonderful celebration of the Victorian sporting community. The ability to showcase sport across all levels, makes for a special occasion. The Victorian Sport Awards provides the opportunity for community participants to share the stage with our home grown national and international athletes.

Congratulations to all the finalists and winners, notably Susan Alberti AC who was the recipient of the Victorian State Government Outstanding Contribution to Victorian Sport Award.

L-R: AFLW player Moana Hope presenting the Outstanding Contribution to Victorian Sport award to Susan Alberti AC

The winners in all categories of the 2018 Victorian Sport Awards are listed below, read about their stories to success here.

Victorian State Government Outstanding Contribution to Victorian Sport

  • Susan Alberti AC

La Trobe University Victorian Coach of the Year

  • Dean Vickerman (Basketball)

Gallagher Victorian Community Coach of the Year

  • Wes Canny (Rowing)

Sports Accounting Australia Victorian Official of the Year

  • Jessica Haintz (Gymnastics)

Gray-Nicolls Sports Victorian Community Official of the Year

  • Phillip Craig (CAMS)

SportsTG Victorian Sports Administrator of the Year - Eunice Gill Award – joint winners

  • Rosie King (Netball)
  • Karen Pearce (Basketball)

Southern Cross Trophies Victorian Young Volunteer of the Year

  • Josh Barila (Swimming)

Love the Game Victorian Community Sporting Club of the Year Award

  • Collingwood Basketball Association (Basketball)

Involve Creative Victorian Masters Athlete of the Year

  • Anna Davis (Cycling)

SportsLink Travel Victorian Team of the Year

  • Melbourne Ice Women (Ice Hockey)

SportsTG Victorian Young Team of the Year

  • Victorian 14 & Under Girls State Indoor Cricket Team (Cricket)

Vicsport Victorian Young Athlete of the Year

  • Jakara Anthony (Mogul Skiing)

Governor's Award Victorian Male Athlete of the Year - Frank Wilkes Award

  • Scotty James (Snowboard)

Governor's Award Victorian Female Athlete of the Year - Kitty McEwan Award

  • Melissa Tapper (Table Tennis)

Victorian Local Government Initiative of the Year

  • Fit N Fun Program (All Abilities) (Mornington Shire Council)

Victorian Outdoor/Active and Recreation Initiative of the Year

  • Escaping Your Comfort Zone

VicHealth Sport Development Initiative of the Year

  • Bowling with Babies (Bowls)

My Sport Live Victorian Community Sporting Event of the Year

  • Victorian Senior Aboriginal Football and Netball Carnival (The Carnival) (Football & Netball)

Victorian State Government Service to Victorian Community Sport and Recreation

  • Elaine Duyvestyn (Softball)

La Trobe University Peter Norman Inclusion Award (inaugural year)

  • Erik Denison (Rugby Union)

Jasmine Richwol

Comunications and Marketing Manager, Vicsport

Government Partners

Preferred Suppliers