2019 Southern Cross Trophies Volunteer of the Year

Presented by:

Nominations close 30 November 2019 and are open to:

This award recognises a volunteer of the Victorian sport and active recreation community who has made a positive difference to the opportunities and experiences available to others over a long period of time. They could be a volunteer administrator, official, umpire or coach, who has provided support, encouragement or inspiration through hard work; often through self-sacrifice and without personal gain.


To be eligible to be considered in this category, the nominee must:

  • Be recognised by the club, State or National Sporting body
  • Not be paid for their volunteering activities (Note: reimbursement of expenses does not constitute payment)

Selection Criteria:

  1. Position held within the club/association/state sporting association/regional sports assembly
  2. The impact of the work completed within their organisation
  3. The impact of the work to the broader community

Selection Process & Voting:

For all information regarding selection and voting processes, return to the 2019 Victorian Sport Award Nominations Information page.

Nominator Details (your details)

Nominee Details (their details)


All nominees for the Victorian Sport Awards will be required to fulfill the following eligibility criteria:

All nominees must be considered as a Victorian in order to be eligible for any award.

To be considered as a Victorian, your nominee must fulfill either requirement (1) OR (2). Please “tick” the criteria below as relevant to your nominee:

Nominee Selection Criteria

The Volunteer of the Year award recognises the exceptional contribution made by a volunteer to the Victorian sport and active recreation community in 2019. Note, they must not be paid for their volunteering activities (reimbursement of expenses does not constitute payment). Please select the appropriate boxes below and answer one or all of the remaining 3 questions in 100 words or less (note: submissions over 100 words will not be accepted)


Previous Winners:

2018Elaine DuyvestynSoftball
2017Alexander (Sandy) Frame
2016George HalkiasFootball
2015Peter CullenReclink Australia
2014Beverley GaudionCalisthenics
2013Geoffrey McCrawAustralian Rules Football

Government Partners

Preferred Suppliers