2019 Team of the Year

Presented by:

Nominations close 30 November 2019 and are open to:

This award recognises a Victorian team who has achieved outstanding results in respect to their performances at a state, national and/or international level during the 2019 year.


To be eligible to be considered in this category, the nominee must:

  • Must be an officially recognised state team by their State Sporting Association; or,
  • A team representing Australia, comprised solely of Victorian athletes as defined in the individual award categories (Male and Female Athletes of the Year)
    • This includes a team registered and based in a Victorian Club (i.e. The Oarsome Foursome – Australian Olympic Four, Rowing 1992 and 1996 Olympics)

Note: This award is open to men’s, women’s and mixed teams

Selection Criteria:

  1. Results and performance
  2. Level of competition – state, national and/or international

Selection Process & Voting:

For all information regarding selection and voting processes, return to the 2019 Victorian Sport Award Nominations Information page.

Nominator Details (your details)

Nominee Details (their details)


All nominees for the Victorian Sport Awards will be required to fulfill the following eligibility criteria:

All nominees must be considered as a Victorian in order to be eligible for any award.

To be considered as a Victorian, your nominee must fulfill either requirement (1) OR (2). Please “tick” the criteria below as relevant to your nominee:

Nominee Selection Criteria

The Team of the Year award recognises a Victorian team who has achieved outstanding results in respect to their performances at a state, national and/or international level during the 2019 year. This award is open to men's, women's and mixed teams. Please select the appropriate boxes below and answer one or all of the remaining 2 questions in 100 words or less (note: submissions over 100 words will not be accepted)


Previous Winners:

2018Melbourne Ice Women Ice Hockey
2017Commonwealth Bank Victorian BushrangersCricket
2016Victorian FuryNetball
2015Victorian FuryNetball
2014Bendigo SpiritBasketball
2013Victorian TigersWater Polo
Bendigo SpiritBasketball
2012Melbourne StormRugby League
2011Men’s Senior Lacrosse TeamLacrosse
Victorian Senior Gymnastics International TeamGymnastics
2010Victorian BushrangersCricket
Women’s Olympic Aerial Skiing TeamSkiing
2009Victorian BushrangersCricket
Melbourne VixensNetball
2008Victorian Track CyclingCycling
Victorian FuryNetball
2007Melbourne VictoryFootball
Victorian Women’s Baseball TeamBaseball
2006Victorian King’s Cup CrewRowing
Melbourne PhoenixNetball
2005Men’s Coxless Pairs Rowing TeamRowing
Dandenong RangersBasketball
2004Victorian BushrangersCricket
Australian Ladies Aerial Ski Team (All team members are Victorian)Skiing
2003C2 TeamCanoeing
Victorian Spirit TeamCricket
2002Glenn Singleton & Piers ChristiansenKayaking
Victorian Women’s State Baseball TeamBaseball
2001Tom King & Mark TurnballYachting
Melbourne PhoenixNetball
2000VIS Men’s Cycling TeamCycling
Victorian Women's Artistic Gymnastics TeamGymnastics
1999Australia/Victorian Coxed FourRowing
VIS Women's Cycling TeamCycling
1998City of Melbourne Table Tennis TeamTable Tennis
Victorian/Australian Women's Lightweight Coxless PairRowing
1997Men’s Coxless FourRowing
Melbourne Waverley PumasNetball
1996VIS Men’s Volleyball TeamVolleyball
Victorian Kayak TeamKayak
1995North Melbourne GiantsBasketball
State Golf TeamGolf
1994Australian Marathon Men’s Canoe TeamCanoeing

Government Partners

Preferred Suppliers