2019 State Government of Victoria Outstanding Contribution to Sport

Presented by:

The Victorian Outstanding Contribution to Sport Award is presented to an individual or organisation in recognition of outstanding achievement in, or contribution to, sport in Victoria. Based on their significant role in the Victorian sport and active recreation sector, the winner of the Outstanding Contribution to Sport Award will be recommended by a panel of expert industry representatives to the Vicsport Board who will determine the final recipient.


To be eligible to be considered in this category, the nominee must:

  • Be a considered as a Victorian


  1. Length of service
  2. Level and standard of achievement
  3. Number of people and organisations that this person has had an influence
  4. Impact on sport in Victoria – More Victorians enjoying the benefits of sport
  5. Efforts to benefit the wider community through sport
  6. Recognition and respect of peers
  7. Displayed values of fairness and integrity
  8. Demonstrated leadership

Selection Process & Voting:

For all information regarding selection and voting processes, return to the 2019 Victorian Sport Award Nominations Information page.

Previous winners:

2018Susan Alberti
2017Cadel Evans
2016Kevin Sheedy AM
2015Nicole Livingstone OAM
2014Bill Lawry AM
2013Peter Brock AM
2012David Parkin OAM
2011John Bertrand AO
2010Jim Stynes OAM
2009Ron Barassi AM
2008Doug Fox
2007Catherine Freeman OAM
2006Peter Norman
2005Judy Patching AO, OBE
2004James Barry
2003Susan Holmes
2002Joyce Brown OAM
2001Steve Moneghetti AM
2000Lindsay Gaze
1998Dr Frank Pyke

Government Partners

Preferred Suppliers