Victorian Sport Awards

Winners of the 2017 #VicSportAwards

The Victorian Sport Awards is the night of nights for the Victorian sporting community, celebrating participants, coaches and the organisers and volunteers behind the scenes from all levels of sport in Victoria.

Every year, the Victorian Sport Awards receives hundreds of nominations which aim to recognise and celebrate those members of our Victorian community and the 2017 Victorian Sport Awards was no exception.

The quality and breadth of the nominations received makes selecting the finalists a difficult endeavour, which is why the 2017 Victorian Sport Awards sought the help of 32 highly qualified Victorian sports people to constitute the judging panels charged with picking the finalists across the 18 categories.

Last night, Wednesday 14 March, at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre the Victorian sporting community celebrated the achievements of our home grown sporting heroes and legends and all those behind the scenes who helped them get there.

Minister for Sport, John Eren proudly says;

“Last night saw the recognition of some wonderful Victorians who do so much for others and our great state ‐ and on behalf of the government I congratulate you all.

Sport is about community. Victoria wouldn’t be the sporting capital without the hard work of our volunteers, players and fans ‐ the very people that make our local clubs tick.

You make a world of difference for countless Victorians through sport and recreation on and off the field.”

Vicsport Interim CEO Michael Sholly says;

“Last night was a wonderful celebration of the Victorian sporting community. The ability to showcase sport across all levels, makes for a special occasion. The Victorian Sport Awards provides the opportunity for community participants to share the stage with our home grown national and international athletes.

Congratulations to all the finalists and winners, notably Cadel Evans who was the recipient of the State Government of Victoria Outstanding Contribution to Sport Award.”

The Victorian Sport Awards are presented by the State Government of Victoria and Vicsport.

The winners in all categories are as follows:

Victorian Coach of the Year

  • Damien Hardwick – Richmond Football Club

Victorian Community Coach of the Year

  • David Hickman – Basketball

Victorian Official of the Year

  • Brad Mannix – Gymnastics

Victorian Community Official of the Year

  • Muriel Aberline – Swimming

Victorian Team of the Year

  • Commonwealth Bank Victorian Bushrangers

Victorian Young Team of the Year

  • Victorian Junior Aerodance Team

Victorian Male Athlete of the Year

  • Cameron Smith – Melbourne Storm

Victorian Female Athlete of the Year

  • Britt Cox – Mogul Skiing

Victorian Young Athlete of the Year

  • Isis Holt – Para-athletics

Victorian Masters Sport Award

  • Linley Frame – Swimming

Outstanding Contribution to Victorian Sport

  • Cadel Evans

Service to Victorian Community Sport

  • Alexander (Sandy) Frame – Swimming

Victorian Young Volunteer of the Year

  • Luqman Latif – Tennis

Victorian Sports Administrator of the Year

  • Belinda Kleverlaan – Tennis

Victorian Local Government Initiative of the Year

  • Active Maribyrnong Spring into Summer Series

Victorian Outdoor/Active Recreation Initiative of the Year

  • Wheel Women

Victorian Sport Development Initiative of the Year

  • “I Speak Football” program

Victorian Community Sporting Club of the Year

  • Malvern Marlins Masters Swimming Club

Victorian Community Sporting Event of the Year

  • Eltham-Dandenong Junior Basketball Tournament

Outstanding Contribution to Sport and Recreation

  • Cadel Evans

You may also be interested in...

Victorian Sport Awards, Industry

Finalists announced for 2018 Victorian Sport Awards

MEDIA RELEASE: Celebrating elite to grass roots sport in Victoria.


Victorian Sport Awards, News, Awards, Industry

Sporting Legends and Community Heroes Star in the Victorian Sport Awards

Two Olympic Gold Medallists from the 2016 Rio Olympics, Kim Brennan AM and Mack Horton OAM, have been named the Victorian Female and Male Athletes of the Year for 2016 at the Victorian Sport Awards at the Melbourne Convention Centre.


News, Victorian Sport Awards, Preferred Supplier

Victorian Sport Awards to be Broadcast Live

Media Release | 28 March 2017 Vicsport today has announced the 2016 Victorian Sport Awards evening will be broadcast live on Thursday evening from the Melbourne Convention Centre to mobile phones, tablets and personal computers starting at 7


Government Partners

Preferred Suppliers