2023 Leasexpress Coach of the Year

Presented by:

Nominations for the 2023 Victorian Sport Awards are now closed.

This award is open to Victorian coaches who have achieved outstanding coaching performance/s with Victorian athlete/s or teams during the 2023 year.


To be eligible to be considered in this category, the nominee must:

  • Be an accredited Coach under the recognised National or State Sporting body
  • Coach Victorian athlete(s) or a team competing at a state, national and/or international level competition
  • Nominations are open to paid and unpaid coaches

Selection Criteria:

  • Results and performance of the athlete/team coached by the nominee
  • Level of competition – state, national and/or international
  • Contribution to the wider coaching community within their sport - mentoring

Selection Process & Voting:

For all information regarding selection and voting processes, return to the 2023 nominations information page here.

Previous Winners

2022 Angela McMillan Aerobic Gymnastics
2021 Alois Rosario Table Tennis
2020 N/A N/A
2019 Jeff Hopkins Football
2018 Dean Vickerman Basketball
2017 Damien Hardwick Australian Rules Football
2016 Luke Beveridge Australian Rules Football
2015 Ange Postecoglou Football
2014 Bernie Harrower Basketball
2013 Kateryna Logachova Gymnastics
2012 Craig Bellamy Rugby
2011 Dave Sanders Cycling
2010 Ian Pope Swimming
2009 Greg Shipperd Cricket
2008 Rohan Taylor Swimming
2007 Kristy Keppich-Birrell Netball
2006 Ian Pope Swimming
2005 Ken Davis Women’s
2004 Lisa Alexander Netball
2003 Rachel Johnson Aerial
2002 Roger Flynn Squash
2001 Peter Fortune Athletics
2000 Peter Fortune Athletics
1999 Noel Donaldson Rowing
1998 Chris Wardlaw Athletics
1997 Noel Donaldson Rowing
1996 David Sanders Cycling

Government Partners

Preferred Suppliers