2022 rebel Young Athlete of the Year

Presented by:

Nominations for the 2022 Victorian Sport Awards have now closed.

This award recognises Victorian junior athletes who have achieved outstanding results in respect to performance/s at a national and/or international level during the 2022 year.


To be eligible to be considered in this category, the nominee must:

  • Have competed in national and/or international level competition
  • Be 21 years of age or under as at 31 December 2022

Selection Criteria:

  1. Results and performance
  2. Level of competition – national and/or international

Selection Process & Voting:

For all information regarding selection and voting processes, return to the 2022 nominations information page here.

Previous Winners:

2021 Oscar Piastri Motorsport
2020 N/A N/A
2019 Gabriella Peiniger Swimming
2018 Jakara Anthony Mogul Skiing
2017 Isis Holt Para Athletics
2016 Emily Beecroft Swimming
2015 Isis Holt Athletics
2014 Courtney Field Cycling
2013 Mack Horton Swimming
2012 Meg Lanning Cricket
2011 Nicholas Groenwald Swimming
2010 Angela Donald Gymnastics
2009 Leigh Howard Cycling
2008 Dylan Alcott Wheelchair
Grace Loh Swimming
2007 Danni Miatke Swimming
2007 Glenn O’Shea Cycling
2006 Danni Miatke Swimming
2005 Michael Ford Cycling
2004 Ronnie Buckley Athletics
Krystal Weir Sailing
2003 Mark French Cycling
2002 Mark French Cycling
2001 Leisl Ischia Diving
2000 Georgie Clarke Athletics
1999 Rahna Demarte Cycling
1998 Brett Lancaster Cycling
1997 Glenn Ashby Sailing
1996 Narelle Peterson Cycling
1995 Paul Byrne Athletics
1994 Kelly Stevenson Diving
1993 Byron Davis Squash
1992 Joanna Hughes Gymnastics
1991 Joanna Hughes Gymnastics
1990 Mia Farrance Canoeing
1989 Mark Holcombe Athletics
1988 Sarah Fitz-Gerald Squash
1987 Nicole Livingstone Swimming

Government Partners

Preferred Suppliers